Dr. James Clanahan Receives 2010 Matthew B. Eisele, M.D. Physician Excellence Award

Dr. James Clanahan Receives 2010 Matthew B. Eisele, M.D. Physician Excellence Award

​Dr. James Clanahan received the 2010 Matthew B. Eisele, M.D. Physician Excellence Award, which was presented at Memorial Hospital’s Medical Staff Dinner in November.

Previous recipients include Dr. James Vest, Dr. Jay Haines II and Dr. Brad Ringhofer.

This award was established to recognize a physician on Memorial’s Medical Staff who exemplifies dedication to medicine, delivery of quality care and a commitment to the community.  The nominee also should inspire others to provide quality service and a high level of care; demonstrate clinical excellence, as well as caring and compassionate communication to patients, families and hospital staff; model teamwork; be responsive to the needs of patients, families and staff; support Memorial as well as its mission and values; participate on hospital and/or medical staff departmental committees; and set a positive example for others. 

Dr. Clanahan, a general surgeon with Lincoln Surgical Group, has been a member of Memorial’s Medical Staff since 1988.  He currently serves as chairman of the Medical Staff’s Operating Room Committee.

In nominating Dr. Clanahan, a peer described him as “having superior surgical skills, an excellent physician, a highly moral family man and an asset to Memorial’s Medical Staff.  He is responsive to his patient’s concerns, responsive to nursing staff issues and communicates with the Medical Staff.”

Another nomination cites Dr. Clanahan for consistently providing exceptional healthcare and compassionate service.  “He is an honorable man who always does right for the patient no matter how inconvenient it may be for his personal schedule.  To me, he epitomizes what a caregiver is in the truest sense of the word.  His peers respect him and look to him for guidance. . .he is seen as a leader in our hospital and community and inspires others by his example.”

In addition to Dr. Clanahan, nominees included: Dr. Dr. Douglas Dothager, Dr. Ann Hagedorn, Dr. Sultan Hayat, Dr. Stuart Mauch, Dr. Hans Moosa, Dr. Stephen Mueller, Dr. Dwight O’Dell, and Dr. Bradley Tissier.

The Matthew B. Eisele, M.D. Physician Excellence Award is named for Memorial’s first medical director.  Prior to serving as Memorial’s medical director, Dr. Eisele was an obstetrician/gynecologist in the community for 22 years.  He was instrumental in shaping the Medical Director’s role into the key position it is today - a liaison between the board of directors, medical staff and administration.